PROMPT: If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

Wow, what a great question; it really invokes deep and wide thought.

Hmmmm … which one would it be?

Well, thinking of superior sensitivity in the different senses: superior eyesight would mean what? seeing hyper-colors, seeing farther distances, seeing clearer words on a page. Superior sense of touch? Things would feel hotter, colder, rougher, softer… I am already hyper-sensitive to smell, let me just say, that is not good all of the time. I will smell long before anyone else, sometimes bad smells can keep me up at night and/or give me a gut reaction and make it difficult not to throw up on the spot when a very pungent smell hits my nose. However, smell warns me when something is not good to eat or drink, so I don’t want to give it up – it keeps me safe and healthy.

I’m think I would give up my sense of touch … and gain super-sensitive hearing. Losing touch would be hard, maybe even creepy; however, gaining super-sensitive hearing would be awesome. It may allow me to know the truth of matters, helpful information, when someone is scheming, when alarms are going off, etc.

Having to really think of all of the different senses we take for granted so much of the time was a really interesting exercise. It leaves me very thankful all of my senses are in tact. It also leaves me in awe and wonder of the magnificence of the human body. Thank you for all of that!

 

Leave a Reply

