PROMPT: The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone).

I like this prompt. I don’t know about you, but I certainly do not have to look too far out my front door to see how blessed my life is. However, gratitude is severely lacking in our society right now; instead, everyone wants more, everyone is so quick to call ‘foul’, everyone acts as if they are entitled to everything. The gluttony of narcissism is disgusting.

In the last few years, I have been one of the many that has experienced great stress, great loss and great uncertainty. I’d like to say that the majority of the time, even in the midst of those different experiences, I am still thankful through them all. Even so, I still have to take self-assessments on a constant basis to consciously count my blessings, state the good in my life, and to say THANK YOU out loud!

Above all of the wonderful, obvious elements of my life, I am by far the most thankful for my son. When I first learned I was pregnant with him, his father and I were already going through a divorce, so it was not a happy, joyful revelation. We did try to stick it out when we found out, but that simply prolonged the inevitable another two years. I remember being despondent, in shock an so angry and resentful that this twist was taking place in my life. I was so resentful that as the mother, every aspect of my life changed while my former husband’s didn’t skip a beat. It was horrible.

However, it did not take long before I realized +GOD+ really does know what he is doing, because my son was not a sacrifice in my life – but the greatest blessing ever. I am such a better, deeper, compassionate, loving person because of his presence in my life. I have thanked +GOD+ every single day for him; I have thanked +GOD+ for instilling the deep, deep rooted knowledge that I had to be his full-time mother … no matter what I had to go without personally and whatever other sacrifices it took on my part.

I am also a much more all-around  grateful person because of the experience of having my son. I take more time before calling ANY situation a bad one. Because I learned so long ago that sometimes – actually, more times than not – when things seem the worst, or what I first perceive as the worst thing that could happen in any given situation happens – in reality, if I simply take a breath, step back,&  give thanks that I’m even still alive and licking – things always, without a doubt, turn out for the best.

And hey, what a great prompt, thank you!!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

