PROMPT: Write a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, and then expand on it in a post.

Prosperous but challenging changes and transitions.

I’m a single mother. I have been for sixteen years. It has been my full-time responsibility – every day, every night, every weekend. My son’s father lives across the country, so there has been no shared responsibility raising my son – it’s been all on me.

All I can say is “thank you, +GOD+ for giving me an amazing child”. He has been perfectly behaved, perfectly adjusted, and the perfect student.

Even so, I thought I would be looking forward to getting him off to college by now, being free to pursue everything I wanted to do for me in my life – you know, ME time.

But now that the time has arrived, I have found it so challenging to switch my focus, to not look back at how fast the time has gone – to not yearn for my little boy. Truthfully, challenging is not a strong enough word to convey the depth and conflict of these emotions of the last few months. But it is what it is.

On the other hand, I do have all of my time, which up until just two months ago went to him, his school, his sports, his life in general (with my work-work ‘on the side’) – to throw into the ideas and projects I have had simmering on the backburner for so long.

I already have investors for one of them. I have written more on one of my projects in the last few weeks than I have in the last two years; and I have already received feedback that has truly surprised even me. So, all indications are my future will be a good one, for which I give thanks.

Change is challenging simply because it makes us step out of our comfort zone, which most of the time we don’t even realize we are in. However, I am of the belief, that the changes going on in my in my life right now may be my reward for dedicating these last eighteen years to raising my child. Any prosperous results will certainly be from the lessons I learned about dedication and devotion in doing so. If the rewards are even a fraction of the positive results I get in return with my son, my future is so bright I will be blinded by even trying to take a peek.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

