Prompt: Celebrate Good Times

“You receive some wonderful, improbable, hoped-for good news. How do you celebrate?”

This is an interesting question. Maybe because of the interjection of the word ‘improbable’ combined with ‘hoped-for’.

I’m not sure if it’s just me, in my life for the last few years, or if it’s our society in general, but it seems to me a lot of us have been waiting for ‘improbable, hoped-for good news’. It makes me wonder what the difference – if there is any – between faith, hope, wishful thinking and luck. I’d have to give it some thought, but I think it’s worth considering at some point.

For now, though, the interesting point that struck me first is how differently I would celebrate now than I would have just a few short years ago.

I love good news, happy news and those times that call for celebration. However, these days, instead of a party or going ‘all out’, or jumping up and down for joy – my celebrations are conveyed in the more quiet, humble manner of gratitude. When any of those improbable, hoped-for, moments comes along, I just give thanks and then put my nose back down to the grindstone. I’m not sure how big the improbable news would have to be before I really let loose and actually ‘celebrated’ in the true sense of the word.

After having the rug pulled out from under me (us) so many times, the lesson has been learned repeatedly that just as quickly as the tide turns for the better, it can turn again for the worse, and on and on … life is one big circle of good or not-so-good news. I also don’t think that’s being cynical; a few years ago it might have been, but not now. Not with this ‘new normal’ we live in.

I savor good news, whether its for me or for someone I love, or for anyone. It just never strikes me to jump up and down or buy myself a celebration gift. It does strike me to give sincere and joyful thanks, to stop and take in those moments, to relish the surprise and inconsistency of life.

Celebration to me is gratitude.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

