Prompt: Clean House

“Is there “junk” in your life? What kind? How do you get rid of it?”

 

Yeah, there’s junk in my life.

However, I am a minimalist when it comes to material things. All of my junk is personal and emotional and mental. And junk is the perfect word for it. And I know it. And I know that ‘naming’ what something is, is half the battle of overcoming it. However, to me, naming the junk is the easy part … clearing It out has been damned near impossible, so far. But I will. I will absolutely clear house.

I will clear all of the junk that regret, remorse, and resentment creates. I chip away at it every day. I clear out the junk by consciously choosing to change my thoughts, by choosing light over darkness and by choosing forgiveness over bitterness.

Sounds good, right? Sounds easy. The truth of the matter is, whether it’s material or emotional, it takes a long, long time to get rid of junk. It takes so long because to truly clear out the junk, one has to also completely overhaul their habits that brings the junk into his life in the first place.

I wish it was as easy as naming it and thinking “I let that go’ … like seeing a junky thing and simply throwing it in the trash can. But it’s not. It’s a constant work in progress. Such is life.

But I will. I will clean my ‘house’. My house will be clear of all junk. It will. I will.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

