Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch

Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch

Write about evil: how you understand it (or don’t), what you think it means, or a way it’s manifested, either in the world at large or in your life.

 

Unfortunately, I understand evil because I have experienced it. I feel like I have danced with the devil. Moreover, that experience led me to study it. I have read several books trying to understand it.

I believe the devil exists. What intrigues me is how people choose to do his work for him. So many devious behaviors are blamed on ‘mental’ problems or a traumatic childhood. I don’t think it can be boxed up so easily.

When I have experienced what I consider evil behavior, I witnessed people that found joy in manipulating innocent people’s lives. Which leads me to another point: evil is not only ‘big’ like a Hitler. Evil exists in every day, simple lives.

My experience with it involved a man I dated. Very charming, a three-time elected official, handsome – seemingly everything one looks for. It wasn’t until he became violent a year and a half into the relationship and we broke up that I found out everything he had ever told me about his life was a lie.

I found out he had been under state and federal investigations for years – he just always slipped right through ever having anything stick. The job history he told me he had was all fabricated. Even documents he produced over that year and a half were all fabricated by him. Moreover, it wasn’t until I looked back on it that I realized him bringing much of his lies was all his scheme of ‘laying tracks’ i.e. everything he did was for a purpose that eventually led into something else he wanted me to believe.

After studying this behavior (mostly because it devastated me that I didn’t get any kind of bad feeling about him and had wasted so much of my life on him) I learned these types of people live their life as a game. The goal is to control manipulate as many others as they can.

Yes, many of these theories related the behavior to childhood traumas, abuse, etc. However, I believe it is also indicative of people that have absolutely no belief in GOD  or HIS consequences.

Why else would smart, talented, obviously charming people, choose to lie and manipulate other people’s lives? Essentially, what they’re doing is literally stealing time out of people’s lives.

The bottom line is, whatever kind of evil we see happening in the larger circle life also happens in every day, simple life.

 

Leave a Reply

