PROMPT: Unplugged

Daily Prompt: Bloggers, Unplugged

Sometimes, we all need a break from these little glowing boxes. How do you know when it’s time to unplug? What do you do to make it happen?

 

Good timing – I had to make myself ‘unplug’ just last night. I was emotionally and mentally fried, I just needed to cut off from everything.

Ironically, even though I knew it and had been thinking it all day – I cannot believe how absolutely difficult it was to NOT turn on my laptop. I instantly grabbed for it. Then, when I remembered that I had decided not to turn it on – I had to talk myself into keeping that promise to myself. I had to resist the urge not to “just check email – nothing else” … or “just check ebay, see if anything sold” … etc., etc.

I had to consciously tell myself there was nothing that could not wait until I woke up at my extremely early regular time.

I’m not even a social network guru, but it’s like through this technical gadget, I don’t feel as disconnected.

Crazy.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

