PROMPT: Safety First

Daily Prompt: Safety First

Share the story of a time you felt unsafe.

 

This past March, my son and I were driving back from the Easter Vigil at our church, which is a 35-40 minute country road drive. Easter Vigil begins after darl – around 8:45 pm and  lasts a little over two hours. So, it was between 11 and 11:30 pm when we were driving back home.

Well, we were on the windiest part of the drive when a late model Toyota Camry came right up behind me and began riding the back end of my car. It was following me so closely that I could not see that car’s front bumper in any of my rear view mirrors.

When that happens and the driver refuses to back off, I usually slow way down and give them an opportunity to pass. If I’m on a road I don’t know and am going slower than the speed limit, I pull over to let them pass. However, in this case, I know this road, I was going at least the speed limit, if not a few miles over. The driver of the other car was simply being an asshole.

Well, he really didn’t like it when I slowed down.

So, he passed me dangerously close, on a double yellow line, got in front of me, slammed on the breaks, stopped in the middle of this country road, got out of his car, stood in the middle of the road and put his hand in the back of his pants like he was going to pull a gun.

Well, I slammed my car in reverse, told my son to call 911, and began driving backwards around curves on pitch black country road.

I was scared.

Then I got pissed.

That is what our word has come to. That asshole does wrong, bullies and intimidates another driver in a naturally dangerous area to begin with and then he resorts to threatening behavior when he is slowed down.

Seriously?

Scary none the less.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

